Defining My Essence

Love Languages

Published November 18, 2021
Author: Claudie P

Everyone wants love, but some don’t know how to. I thought that it would be beneficial for people to understand what love languages are and how you can use them in your life. Since I was in high school I’ve been interested in the topic of the five love languages which are: receiving gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service and physical touch. Gary Chapman was the one that came up with the love languages and wrote a book called “The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate.” When I was in high school I did a presentation on it and conducted a study about attraction. I also did a presentation on it in college too. Love is something that everyone wants to experience so why not study it. About a year ago I took a quiz to see what my love language was. I believe my top language was acts of service but I’m not certain. I wanted to take it again to see if it had changed and to see what follows. Each aspect of the love languages is important but one could hold a higher value to you. The love language that you have is how you want to be shown love, not how you love someone. So you should also get to know what your partner’s love language shows. You can understand them and love them the way they want to be loved.

What Does Each Language Mean?

Receiving gifts: For you someone gifting you something is the most important way that they can show your love. It doesn’t mean that the gift has to be extravagant, it could be a meaningful gift. it’s the fact that they went out of their way to get you something.

Acts of Service: You appreciate when someone takes the time to do something nice for you. It could be them taking out the trash. Helping with dishes. For you, someone helping out shows you that they care, especially if they do something for you that you don’t like doing.

Quality Time: You rather spend your time near your significant other. You could spend the whole day with them and not care about the rest of the world.

Physical touch: This does not always have to be sexual but it can be if you want. You probably like to be hugged a lot. Holding hands might interest you or even having someone playing with your hair.

Words of Affirmation: This means that you like to be told positive things. You probably like being told that you are appreciated for the things that you do. That you look nice today. You smell nice.

(you can take this test for free at the website below)


My Results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *